November 27th, 2007 by sabrina

Durga is the Hindu Goddess of war. She is the first of the Hindu Great Goddesses, formed by the female energies of the original male deities. A fearful demon, Mahishasura, had grown so powerful that he could not be defeated by God or man. Only the combined force of Shakti, the female aspect of the male Gods, would be able to triumph over Mahishasura. Knowing this, the Gods joined together to form the Goddess they called Durga. Each contributed part of their magic to her creation–Shiva created her face, Chandra (the moon God) formed her breasts, Indra her torso, Vishnu her ten arms, Varuna (God of oceans) her legs and thighs, Brahma her feet, Agni (God of fire) her three eyes, and Vayu (God of wind) her ears. The Gods also gave her divine weapons with which to fight–a trident, a disc, a conch shell, a spear, a bow and arrows, a thunderbolt, a bell, a sword, a shield, an axe, armor, and a lion to ride on.

Armed with the power of the Gods, Durga rode out to meet Mahishasura. The demon was able to change forms, and each time it appeared that Durga had him defeated, he would change and his vigor would be renewed. Throughout the battle, Durga remained calm and untroubled. Finally, after 9 days of fighting, she beheaded the demon, and peace was restored.

Durga’s name means “the inaccessible”, and is one of the 108 Names of Durga, used as a prayer or meditation:
Durga (The Inaccessible)
Devi (The Deity)
Tribhuvaneshwari (Goddess of The Three Worlds)
Yashodagarba Sambhoota (Emerging From Yashoda’s Womb)
Narayanavarapriya (Fond of Narayana’s Boons)
Nandagopakulajata (Daughter Of The Nandagopa Race)
Mangalya (Auspicious)
Kulavardhini (Developer Of The Race)
Kamsavidravanakari (Threatened Kamsa)
Asurakshayamkari (Reducer Of The Number Of Demons)
Shilathata Vinikshibda (At Birth, Slammed By Kamsa)
Akashagamini (Flew In The Sky)
Vasudevabhagini (Sister Of Vasudeva)
Divamalya Vibhooshita (Adorned With Beautiful Garlands)
Divyambaradhara (Beautifully Robed)
Khadgaketaka Dharini (Holder Of Sword And Shield)
Shiva (Auspicious)
Papadharini (Bearer Of Others’ Sins)
Varada (Granter Of Boons)
Krishna (Sister Of Krishna)
Kumari (Young Girl)
Brahmacharini (Seeker Of Brahman)
Balarkasadrushakara (Like The Rising Sun)
Purnachandra Nibhanana (Beautiful Like The Full Moon)
Chaturbhuja (Four-Armed)
Chaturvakttra (Four-Faced)
Peenashroni Payodhara (Large Bosomed)
Mayoora Pichhavalaya (Wearer Of Peacock-Feathered Bangles)
Keyurangadadharini (Bejewelled With Armlets And Bracelets)
Krishnachhavisama (Like Krishna’s Radiance)
Krishna (Dark-Complexioned)
Sankarshanasamanana (Equal To Sankarshana)
Indradhwaja Samabahudharini (With Shoulders Like Indra’s Flag)
Patradharini (Vessel-Holder)
Pankajadharini (Lotus-Holder)
Kanttadhara (Holder of Shiva’s Neck)
Pashadharini (Holder Of Rope)
Dhanurdharini (Holder Of Bow)
Mahachakradharini (Holder Of Chakra)
Vividayudhadhara (Bearer Of Various Weapons)
Kundalapurnakarna Vibhooshita (Wearer Of Earrings Covering The Ears)
Chandravispardimukha (Beautiful Like The Moon)
Mukutavirajita (Shining With Crown Adorned)
Shikhipichhadwaja Virajita (Having Peacock-Feathered Flag)
Kaumaravratadhara (Observer Of Fasts Like Young Girls Do)
Tridivabhavayirtri (Goddess Of The Three Worlds)
Tridashapujita (The Goddess Of The Celestials)
Trailokyarakshini (Protector Of The Three Worlds)
Mahishasuranashini (Destroyer Of Mahisha)
Prasanna (Cheerful)
Surashreshtta (Supreme Among The Celestials)
Shiva (Shiva’s Half)
Jaya (Victorious)
Vijaya (Conqueror)
Sangramajayaprada (Granter Of Victory In The War)
Varada (Bestower)
Vindhyavasini (Resident Of The Vindhyas)
Kali (Dark-Complexioned)
Kali (Goddess Of Death)
Mahakali (Wife Of Mahakala)
Seedupriya (Fond Of Drinks)
Mamsapriya (Fond Of Flesh)
Pashupriya (Fond Of All Beings)
Bhootanushruta (Well-Wisher Of Bhootaganas)
Varada (Bestower)
Kamacharini (Acting On One’s Own Accord)
Papaharini (Destroyer Of Sins)
Kirti (Famed)
Shree (Auspicious)
Dhruti (Valiant)
Siddhi (Successful)
Hri (Holy Chant Of Hymns)
Vidhya (Wisdom)
Santati (Granter Of Issues)
Mati (Wise)
Sandhya (Twilight)
Ratri (Night)
Prabha (Dawn)
Nitya (Eternal)
Jyotsana (Radiant Like Flames)
Kantha (Radiant)
Khama (Embodiment Of Forgiveness)
Daya (Compassionate)
Bandhananashini (Detacher Of Attachments)
Mohanashini (Destroyer Of Desires)
Putrapamrityunashini (Sustainer Of Son’s Untimely Death)
Dhanakshayanashini (Controller Of Wealth Decrease)
Vyadhinashini (Vanquisher Of Ailments)
Mruthyunashini (Destroyer Of Death)
Bhayanashini (Remover Of Fear)
Padmapatrakshi (Eyes Like The Lotus Leaf)
Durga (Remover Of Distress)
Sharanya (Granter Of Refuge)
Bhaktavatsala (Lover Of Devotees)
Saukhyada (Bestower Of Well-Being)
Arogyada (Granter Of Good Health)
Rajyada (Bestower Of Kingdom)
Ayurda (Granter Of Longevity)
Vapurda (Granter Of Beautiful Appearance)
Sutada (Granter Of Issues)
Pravasarakshika (Protector Of Travelers)
Nagararakshika (Protector Of Land)
Sangramarakshika (Protector Of Wars)
Shatrusankata Rakshika (Protector From Distress Caused By Foes)
Ataviduhkhandhara Rakshika (Protector From Ignorance And Distress)
Sagaragirirakshika (Protector Of Seas And Hills)
Sarvakaryasiddhi Pradayika (Granter Of Success In All Attempts)
Durga (Deity Durga)

This entry was posted on Tuesday, November 27th, 2007 at 9:33 pm and is filed under Hindu. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.